Skip to content

An update

October 14, 2011

Since it appears that I am incapable of actually regularly keeping this up, (because my life isn’t all that exciting!), I thought I’d run by and do a quick update…

We are moving!

MrB got an offer he can’t refuse, so we are packing up from the Ile de France and heading over to Metz.  We went this past weekend to look at a few rentals for the time being while we sell our place, and to check out the town since I’ve certainly never been and MrB either.  We ended up signing to rent a house, with 3 bedrooms and a small yard at the end of an impasse.  The yard kind of gives on a parking lot for the halte garderie, but we can put up some wooden panels to block the view if we want.  At the end of the day we are hoping this is temporary, with a little luck in 18 months time our place will be sold and we’ll have found what we want over there so it will hopefully be short lived.  (Plus not to mention that both our house payment and renting is pricey, but we don’t want to split up!)  Looking at all those rentals made me realize just how lucky we are to have our current house, and how much we’ll miss it despite its shortcomings and the fact that we’ll have basically outgrown it in 6 months time.

We made it back on Wednesday and I am really glad we foud and signed for a place, since I don’t think I’ll be making many more trips until this new babe is born.  Because, yes, in the midst of all of this we are also having a baby at the end of November.  We signed for our new place from December 1st, and are thinking we’ll move sometime between the 8th and the 15th of December…  Thankfully his new job is paying for movers so we don’t even have to pack boxes, I think they are doing it all for us.  With a new baby, and my toddler I just don’t know how we could have done it all!  That said it looks like MrB will be ‘mise au jardin*’ from the 15th of November, so he’ll be around to help out!

I am also worried about another breech baby.  MissL was breech which ended up in a CSection for me.  With all that we have going on, and just because I hated having a CSection, I am really hoping for a head down baby this time around, and a successful vaginal birth.  Plus we’d like to have 3-4 kiddos we think (though maybe this will change once we have 2!) so, if I can avoid a CSection it’d be great.  I’ve gone to the osteopath, and I have the name of an acupuncturist in Paris that I’ll go to if baby is breech at my next appointment.  So, things are, well, really busy, but looking good.  I am a little nervous about leaving here and moving on to something else, but our quality of life should increase, and, you don’t know if you don’t try!

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2011 3:21 pm

    What great news! Congrats on your little baby (I didn’t remember you mentioning this before so sorry if i’m being redundant!) and good luck for your upcoming move. I hope you’ll get your VBAC! My little one was born C-section too (and end of Nov.) so I can sympathize. Fingers crossed that it’ll all go your way!

    • ashleyenfrance permalink*
      October 22, 2011 9:40 am

      Thanks! This baby is head down, so for the moment it is all steam ahead for a VBAC… I have to do a ‘scanner’ but I doubt there will be a problem in that regard, neither does my Dr, it is more so my file is ‘complete’ depending on who is on duty when I show up at the hospital.

  2. October 17, 2011 7:19 pm

    Thanks for updating 🙂 It’s going to be a busy and exciting next few months for you, but I’m sure everything will work out just fine. Of course you are going to miss your house, but a new adventure awaits in Metz!

    I’m hoping you don’t have to go through another C-section, but I guess only time will tell. The important thing is the baby is born healthy with as little stress to your body as possible. Can’t wait to know if it’s a boy or girl and the name!

    • ashleyenfrance permalink*
      October 22, 2011 9:41 am

      Nothing like peer pressure to update some… 😉

  3. December 26, 2011 8:18 am

    Hello there! Found you through Amber’s blog, and what a coincidence, I’ve been in Metz for 4 years! Hope you’re settling in well. I’d be happy to show you guys around, though if you’ve been here a few weeks, you’ve probably already seen everything ! :-p Not quite as big as Paris . . .

Leave a Reply

