Skip to content

France strikes.

October 22, 2010

I am not so sure how things really are out there, since I have been hanging at home lately.  I have 3/4 of a tank of gas and we are supposed to head out halloween weekend, so I am trying to stay at home and not use my gas, just in case.  Not to mention if things were to get really bad, I would want to be able to drive to the store, as there is nothing walking distance from my house besides other homes.

The one thing I am sure of, is that it is not as bad out there are the media in the United States portrays.  Yes, there are isolated incidents, and yes some people do use the turmoil as an excuse for violence.  But, the majority of people are just trying to do their jobs, and the majority are able to.  MrB drives a lot for work and has had long lines waiting for gas, but has yet to miss a day of work due to the strikes.

Whether I am for or aganist the strikes and the cause they are defending is neither here nor there.  I understand the need for reform, as I understand people defending their social rights before they all dissapear.  And while is has been a pain for many people and may be a pain for some time to come, I can’t help but admire what the strikers are doing.  They do not agree with what is happening and they are letting everyone know.  I don’t know of any other place in the world where people stand up and make a fuss as well as in France.  Whether it will change anything or not is unknown, and rather unlikely.  It is true that there is a need for a reform.

And while it is no fun dealing with the strikes, although personally besides waiting for a while a week ago for gas I have yet to deal with them, I do think that it is applaudable that people stand up and say what they think.  I think that it is rare for people to do this, and have only seen people doing this in France.

I found myself defending this position on Facebook the other day.  And I now think that I have passed the point where I need to request French nationality.  Because if I am defending the doit de greve on the internet, and standing up for the strikers, then I think that I am ready to call myself French as well as American.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

