Skip to content

September 26, 2010

I am sitting here, or lying rather, with a baby draped across my body.  Teething has hit us really hard and while night-time sleeping is all over the place, and resulting in very little sleep at all, naps seem to be of up most importance.  (Most likely because the nighttime sleeping is all out of whack!).

My baby girl is going to have a first birthday in less than a month.  And I can’t believe it.  One year has gone by in the blink of an eye.  Parents always say this to younger people, “Just wait, pretty soon time will be flying by,” and it is so true.  And so I have been shopping for someones’ birthday.  I am not a really big fan of plastic toys and what not.  Yes, she does have some, but most of them were not bought by myself.  I am looking to Etsy for some nice handmade toys, and I would like to make something but am finding myself short on time.  I should have foreseen this, after all I’ve known since her birth the date that she would turn one on, but life got busy.

Stair climbing at the playground

Notice the little ‘tail’ on the back of her shoes.  The front of the shoes has a monkey face on them, and the back a little tail.  They are SO cute.  (I call them shoes, but they are really soft soled slippers kind of.  At any rate, for the moment it is the only type of shoe she tolerates on her feet, so she wears them pretty much every day so I don’t get called out as a bad Mom at the grocery store!)

MissL isn’t walking yet, although I think that we are almost there.  She can climb the stairs lightening fast though.  This has led to several almost heart attacks when I try to locate her.  Our house is not that big though, so a quick sweep of my eyes to the floor doesn’t find her, then I know where to look next.  We are debating about the use of putting up a gate.  The only thing upstairs is our bedroom, and I never leave her in the house alone.  It would likely be safer, just in case.

Such a big girl!

MissL and I took her Papa on a walk yesterday.  Our usual, daily walk.  We wore him out.  Just under 6 kilometers.  Which, I find hilarious in a way, because, come on, we are WALKING.  Not jogging, not power walking, just going on a leisurely stroll.  The good news from our walk, which I have known for quite some times, because I do the walk almost every day, is that pretty much every house on our street has been added on to at one point or another.  The bad news is that, we have no idea when.  So, we still have to go see the mayor, and try to talk him into it.  We are both crossing our fingers.  Plus there is a little piece of land next to ours that belongs to the commune, that we would be interested in.  It would largely increase our yard size and I doubt another home could be built on it.  It only makes sense to add it to our piece.  Maybe we can cut some sort of deal, if we buy the land off our commune he’ll grant us the construction permit…

Sigh.  Decisions.  Whoever said growing up isn’t easy was obviously not an adult.  Because being an adult is not that easy either!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2010 3:56 pm

    Cute!! I can’t believe how fast a year goes by. Before I know it, i’ll be posting a first birthday blog entry of my own 🙂 Love those little shoes — where did you get them?

    • ashleyenfrance permalink*
      September 26, 2010 4:39 pm

      She isn’t quite One yet, but will be in just under a month… Snif! They are Robeez, we have two pairs actually, one for 6-12 months and one 12-18 months. I think she has small feet because the 6-12 months are still pretty big! I have seen them for sale in a boutique-y shop in the biggest town near us, but mine were actually a gift. They are (I think) quite popular in the US for babies, but they freak the French out because for the French (or at least as far as I have seen), think that babies need shoes that really support their ankles. I have no idea though, the ‘real’ shoes I got her in the US, Simple brand, are low tops as well… Sigh. Anything you do as a parent is up for discussion, whether it be the shoes you put on your kids or how you feed them…

      • September 26, 2010 5:49 pm

        that’s something my mommy friends have been trying to prep me for. apparently the kid can never be too bundled up or over bundled up, strangers giving advice about hats and scarves.. sounds like fun times indeed.

      • ashleyenfrance permalink*
        September 26, 2010 6:26 pm

        Ah, yes, the dreaded draft. Ugh. My daughter has had ONE runny nose in her life, and she is not always covered up like we are headed out into the Siberia. I’ve gotten the evil eye down pretty well. We are on to other problems now, since I am still breastfeeding her… Sigh. I wish the French had a more, “Live and let live” personality, but oh well. I’ve just stopped talking about it unless people specifically ask. And that goes for anything baby related…

  2. misschris permalink
    September 27, 2010 8:00 am

    My English neighbor had a Daisy Roots rep party (Daisy Roots are like Robeez) and now all the French moms are nuts about soft shoes whereas when Little S had them five years ago I got so many comments about ruining his feet. It just takes time for things to catch on I guess.

    She’s so cute. I love her fat little baby legs!!

    • ashleyenfrance permalink*
      September 27, 2010 12:20 pm

      Ah, I feel better that you got comments too. Just because after a while it starts to get to me…

      She still has quite the chub on her arms and legs, I think once she starts walking it is all going to melt away. 😦 Guess it’ll mean it is time for BB#2 at that point!! 😉

  3. September 28, 2010 7:27 pm

    Aww she’s so beautiful!! I also love the shoes, do you think you can buy them in adult sizes? 😉

    • ashleyenfrance permalink*
      September 28, 2010 7:58 pm

      Lol. I’d probably wear them around the house if they did make them in adult sizes…

Leave a Reply

