Skip to content

Les Médiévales de Provins

June 6, 2010

We live in the Seine and Marne region of France.  Which is not really known for a whole lot.  I guess cheese, as is every other part of France, a few chateaux, and the Medieval town of Provins.  We do not live that far from Provins, so we head over there some years for the 14th of July fireworks and a drink in an outdoor cafe terasse after, and we also have gone to the Médiévales. Provins is a medieval town, and even still has some of the remaining surrounding walls erect.  Every year, mid-June they have a huge festival celebrating the town, and its medieval origins.  Last year we went, and although my pregnant self was so very HOT, it was a lot of fun.  It seems to me that people come from all over France to participate.  It is full of live music, parades, arts and crafts, people in costumes, food stands (that apparently server Medieval style food, besides some Coca Cola and ice cream of course!)…  This year I think MrB is working the weekend of the festival and I am not sure if I have it in me to go on my own with MissL, but I would more then recommend it to those even slightly interested.  Pictures below from last year.

The Bell Tower: You can walk up to the top and visit.

Music Group: and they told some pretty funny jokes too!

Drummer

Authentic Decor!

Beautiful street in Provins

Pretty Pup

Street Scene

One hot dog! Poor guy!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. beth permalink
    June 8, 2010 8:56 pm

    Looks great! If we were staying in France this summer, I just might be tempted to pack up my kids (and their medieval garb) and head out your way to have a look.

    You should dress up your baby and go this year. She’d look so sweet in an old-style bonnet!

    • ashleyenfrance permalink*
      June 9, 2010 12:10 pm

      I really do want to go, but I’d have to go alone, so the jury’s out for the moment… I have to figure out how to whip up some sort of mini costume for the baby that could be seen somewhat if I decide to wear her, and a bonnet sounds perfect! I guess I should whip out my sewing things and try to make one! It will kind of depend on the weather as well, since it is kind of yucky out today who knows what the end of the week will bring…

Leave a Reply

