Skip to content

Home again, home again…

May 25, 2010

After a few days spent in the south of France, and we are oh-so-happy to be home!  I like visiting (in this case with my in-laws), but my own bed is so much nicer then the one we sleep on in the south.  I think that the mattress must be around 30 years old or something, and it seems to give me allergies every time we go there.  So after a few nights of hardly any sleep my bed is calling my name.

It is also a little rough sometimes because my in-laws are oh so full of advice, such as adding flour into bottles for MissL to sleep through the night.  Which is funny because she doesn’t ever have bottles since I am still breastfeeding her.  And that they also think is ‘weird’ or ‘unnatural’.  And they don’t think I am giving her enough solids, but I can’t force her to eat!  I am of the opinion that she will eat more when she is ready, for the moment she is still figuring it all out!

So needless to say our bed and our home were a more then welcome sight, even if MrB did get to swim a little.  We tried MissL in a mini-pool, but she wasn’t having it.  I think that it wasn’t hot enough for her to get any real relief, nor was the water in the pool warm enough either.  But Papy gave us the pool when we left so we will try again in a few weeks when it is nicer out!  It is nice to see them, even if they sometimes drive me up a wall.  I just have to remind myself often that they don’t mean any harm, and they are Lily’s grandparents so they do have a role to play.  But I do have to be careful, they think that she is too fat and are fairly vocal about it, and I don’t want Lily to be around that kind of attitude.  So it is a fine line to be walked.  Also to be noted is the fact that MissL now has separation anxiety.  She likes to have her Mama in sight or within hearing range at all moments… Which also means her Mama has to start working on finding more work from home as well…

MrB is gone tonight again.  A work dinner.  I was planning on going to the store and buying myself something to feast on alone, but, of course, last night we forgot to take the base of the car seat out of MrB’s car, so I am sans siege auto today, which means no errands to run for me.  Instead it gives me a reason to clean my house top to bottom, if only the baby will let me put her down.  Teething is tough!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2010 5:25 pm

    It’s wonderful that you can visit with your in-laws for a few days, but I don’t see how you tolerate all that judgment! They think breastfeeding at 7 months is “unnatural”? Here in America we have this view of the French as being so liberal and modern and yet here is a belief from the 1950’s rearing its ugly head again. I feel like sending them the statistics from scientific studies that prove that breastfeeding until at least 2 years of age makes the child healthier and bolsters the child’s immune system, and that chubby babies are healthiest, as well, and grow up to have higher IQs! I don’t know how long I would want to nurse my own children, but I would certainly snap (at least every now and then) at the people giving me unwanted, judgmental input. So I admire your patience and resolve!

    • ashleyenfrance permalink*
      May 28, 2010 12:16 pm

      I think that she thinks it is strange that I am happy at home watching her (ie that she is not in daycare), and also that we never really are apart, so MissL never has bottles (I dislike pumping and why bother when the ‘tap’ is right there!?). I don’t know, I just tune it out, they are my husbands parents and we do want to have a relationship with them…

      There are TONS of benefits from extended nursing, and I don’t know how long we will end up nursing for, but for the moment MissL needs it for the nutrition (she isn’t too crazy about solids yet) and for the comfort. I know the real facts from the WHO and the AAP and other sources. So I just stop listening. There is no point in arguing, they have 3 kids of their own, and I don’t think they realize that people do things differently and that things have changed from 25-30 years ago regarding the advice given, and research done. I just wish they could have a more ‘live and let live’ attitude. And next time, for sure, the line is getting drawn if they call my girl fat again! Especially if they ever want to spend time alone with her. If that continues, all visits will be supervised!

Leave a Reply

