Skip to content

Call me crazy.

May 17, 2010

Almost 7 months into this whole new life as a Mama and baby lover, my mind seems to have decided that I want 4 kids.  Yes, you read that right, 4.  We are not rich, nor will we ever be, but I love this new role as a Mama so much I can’t imagine myself stopping at 2.  And 3 seems too odd of a number, so that brings us to 4.  And really, when I think about it, one of my favorite family has 6 kids.  I was there for the eldest child’s wedding, (he married a very good friend of mine), and it seriously brought tears to my eyes when his siblings too the microphone to speak about growing up with Greg as an older brother.  It was honest to goodness good stuff.  There was so much love poured out in that night, and my eyes well up now thinking about that moment, and the one that followed when Greg got up and kissed his brothers and sister.  And I also think about my Dad, one of 6 as well.  And how even now, when they are spread out all over the Western United States, how they all know that they can count on each other.  My parents are the ones called when things are going poorly, when someone needs a hand, some cash, or some advice.  My Dad isn’t the oldest, nor the youngest, but similiar to the situation with Greg and his siblings, my Uncles and Aunt know where to turn even when all that is needed is an ear to listen.  The bond between siblings is beautiful, and I feel priviviliged to have seen on several occasions what a large family does to someone.  Those that I know from large families are patient, know how to listen, grew up with their best friends sleeping in the same bedrooms, and had tons of fun everyday, even if money was lacking and their mom’s were making bread not because the No-Knead bread was the new cool thing, but because it was cheaper to make it then to buy it.

But, all of these thoughts are on hold until we decide to have baby #2, and see how that birth goes.  This whole C-Section thing kind of threw a wrench in my plans!  In my mind I am seeing a really old French farmhouse, with tons of kids running around, riding bikes in the summer sun, green grass, bbq’s, music and lots of laughing….  We will see if it happens someday, but hey, a girl can dream, right?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kellie permalink
    May 17, 2010 7:58 am

    I love your dream family! It sounds so lovely. You’ll be a great momma to all of your future children. 🙂 I come from a family of 4 kids and my best friend comes from one of 5, so (while I’m biased) I definitely agree that the bigger the better! Have you ever seen that TV show “Brothers & Sisters”? Though it’s about grown siblings, it’s still very accurate!

    My siblings and I would probably never cry and kiss each other at a wedding (instead we’d make fun of each other) but after having gone through the recent deaths, I am even more grateful for my family. We all draw strength from each other, and the bond of knowing each other’s childhood escapades/adventures is beyond compare. So I definitely agree: 4 is a good number. 😉

  2. May 24, 2010 8:19 pm

    As a mom of four, I whole-heartly agree!! I grew up with just one brother and thought our family was so…dull. And often quite lonely.
    But I was never completely sure I’d be a good mom or that I’d enjoy it…
    It turns out that, like you, I adored it! So, we had another baby…and then twins!
    (Twins, btw, are the best!)
    My kids are getting older now- the twins are 12 already and my eldest is 16! What is amazing is how close they are. I often find all four of them crammed into one small bedroom, talking, playing music, or whatever.
    We do lots as a family and it’s so much fun!

    The best gift I ever gave them was…each other!!

    • ashleyenfrance permalink*
      May 24, 2010 9:02 pm

      Oh, thanks for the insight! My husband would LOVE twins. And I love the mess and noise and closeness that comes with a larger family, and how everyone always has someone to play with. We are waiting for awhile I think before going for #2 although I think my husband would like to start seriously considering it when MissL is one, but that is in only 5 months! It seems so soon to me…!!

Leave a Reply

