Skip to content

May 15, 2010

Kind of a silly post, but I have to get it out, so here goes…

An acquaintance just had her baby yesterday, and of course, as these things go today, it is plastered all over Facebook.  And for some reason, her birth, vaginal, makes me feel sad about my C-Section again.  I had thought I was over it, that I had emotionally recovered, but I guess not.  I am hopeful for a VBAC next pregnancy, and because we want 3-4 kids it would be really nice to start delivering my babies the ‘natural’ way.  My Doctor is fairly confident that I can have a VBAC, as the only reason for my C-Section was the fact that MissL was breech, so with a little luck the next one will be head down and pop out as they are supposed to.  I am also greatful for my C-Section, as both me and MissL had a safe birth.  I was lucky in the fact that my water had already broken, so she did come on her own time.  At least I got that.  Sigh.  I am very hopeful for next time, and I have a friend that is attempting a VBAC this summer so I hope it goes as she plans.

I am so so so happy to have my baby girl, and I am so happy that nothing bad happened to her during delivery.  And that is the goal during childbirth.  I also got to see her for a few minutes before she was whisked away to be checked on after the birth.  And she did give me that look.  The one you see babies giving their mothers after birth.  And I am so so so happy for that as well.  She knew who I was, and to this day no-one is better then her Mama for loving on her, putting her to sleep and taking care of her.  But I am hoping for that vaginal birth someday, and in the mean time I slather my scar with biafine* every day, as per my midwife’s suggestion.

*a cream that is usually for burns.  It is a moisturiser and I do think that it is helping as my scar is already starting to fade quite a bit!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kellie permalink
    May 17, 2010 7:50 am

    My mom birthed 3 out of 4 of her kids when they were “sunny side up.” She never had a break in labor but she got to have vaginal births. If it happens to you again, hopefully it would be safe to try!

    • ashleyenfrance permalink*
      May 17, 2010 8:51 am

      Hopefully! I am crossing my fingers… At any rate Miss Lily is totally worth it.

Leave a Reply

