Skip to content

A week off = A lot of work

May 12, 2010

MrB is off for the week.  And besides all of the really exciting things we get to do, (think get MissL her French passport papers together, find a contrat d’entretien for our water heater, clean this messy, messy house, wash the dog and the list goes on, and on, and on), we have also squeezed in a few fun things, such as a visit to MrB’s grandparents.

They were very happy to see our girl.  Even though we live in France, we are far from family.  We live east of Paris, and MrB’s family live in either Limoges, Bourges or near Marseilles.  So, we don’t seem them all that often.  We always eat really well when we are there, very traditional French things, such as fresh, fried foie gras cooked with apples, or a chicken in lemon cream sauce.  We didn’t sleep all that well there, MissL is cutting her second tooth, so sleep is a rare commodity these past few days, but she was still a happy, smiley baby for her great-grandparents, which was nice for us as well.  Her great-grandmother even bought her a wooden mobile for her crib.

Now that we are home, we are back to our paperwork (how exciting!), and I am officially back into photography.  My camera took a fall at a wedding a while ago and I though it was broken.  But, it turns out that the person that picked it up (most likely the same person that knocked my purse over in the first place…) fiddled with the buttons, and it appears that I now have it back to the way it should be, after I have spent hours trying to figure it out. The good news is that in trying to figure it all out, I have learned a lot about my camera…

The weather is still rather cold.  I planted my tomatoes the other day, so I hope that they make it through this bad spell.  I have quite a few other things that I need to plant, so hopefully that will get done this week as well.  Things are looking up, and we are waiting for the sun!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2010 7:07 am

    That picture of MissL in the sunglasses is adorable! Wow, I am so amazed that you have great-grandparents you can go visit. That’s wonderful. MrB’s family must have good genes! 🙂

    • ashleyenfrance permalink*
      May 14, 2010 1:19 pm

      Well, they are MissL’s great-grandparents… But the last of MrB’s great-grandparents just passed away this summer. MissL was born almost exactley 100 years after her great-great-grandma Suzanne… We never got a photo of the two of them together, which I am still sad about, but that is just the way it goes sometimes I guess.

    • ashleyenfrance permalink*
      May 14, 2010 4:28 pm

      Oh yeah, and the sunglasses were too cute to resist. Kind of a splurge though, but totally worth it!

Leave a Reply

