Skip to content

Mothers Day

May 10, 2010

Sunday it was Mothers Day in the US.  In France, Mothers Day isn’t until the end of the month, but I don’t mind having two days to reflect upon what this day now means to me.

Miss Lily has made me a complete person.  I can’t imagine my life without her, and she is such a large part of my life now.  I was happy, and content before becoming a mother, but those feelings were nothing compared to those of becoming Mom to someone else.  My love for everything seems to have grown ten-fold since becoming a mother.  My feeling seem more intense, and I see life through different eyes.  I have always been one to cry easily, and I feel a lot of emotions, for me as well as for others, but even more so now that I am a Mama.  My compassionate side is always full, ready to feel for other people.

I also feel closer to my parents since becoming a parent, and I respect all that they have done for my sister and I a lot more then before becoming a Mom.  I can’t imagine how difficult it was for them to take me to the airport at 17 and let me board that plane to France.  But they did it.  Because they loved and trusted me.  And I want to be that kind of a person to my daughter as well.  She is my joy, my light and everything to me now.  We are planning on at least one more child, and I hope that my ability to love just grows with each child, because I don’t think that I have ever been so just content with the way things are.  Thank you MissL for coming into my life and making me a complete person.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 14, 2010 7:03 am

    That’s a beautiful post. 🙂 I started as a nanny when I was 19 and the youngest child in the family was 18 months. I still feel like he’s my baby on occasions (he just turned 9!). But taking care of him and his big sister throughout college kept me grounded — rooted like an oak. Our late teens/early twenties are a crazy time when we’re often surrounded by (let’s face it) idiots, and having the perspective of small children so present kept me rooted in who I was and what was meaningful in life. All of this is to say that I’ve only had a brush with what you must be feeling, but you’ve described it perfectly, and I’m so happy for you.

Leave a Reply

