Skip to content

Blogger heard the world round

May 6, 2010

I imagine that perhaps some of you already know about this blogger…  I started reading her at the birth of her daughter who was found to have Downs Syndrome at birth.  Pretty much all of her posts make me realize how lucky I am, and how only concentrating on the good things in life can make everything seem so much better.  I have a tendency to concentrate on the bad things, or the things that are not working.  And I think that this pulls us into a kind of negative type cycle.  I think if I start to concentrate on the good things everything will seem a little bit better, and it will at least feel like more opportunities are coming my way.

What I am loving now:

-spending time with this little one (I stopped at my old job today, -stopped being a nice term for the amount of time I spent actually getting there- and I can say that I am so happy to have taken an additional 6 months off with my girl, I am missing nothing vital there):


-taking walks with my girl, my husband and my pup (an aside, we are so lucky, Bandit really has taken to Lily just fine.  I was a little worried because before her birth, he was my baby, but he has adapted to his new big brother/uncle status quite well, and I think that he is loving Mama being at home more to take care of him and love him up, even if his overall snuggle time has been a little diminished):


-snuggling with my loves in bed.  I am not sure if I should even say this as it is a hot topic issue, but most nights Miss Lily ends up sleeping with us.  She still nurses fairly frequently at night, and while she is in bed I barely have to wake up to latch her on.  And her room is downstairs and ours is upstairs, and it stresses me out…  I usually go to bed after her while my husband stays up a little later.  I think I can count on one hand the amount of nights that he has locked the door at night (I can’t do it before him as he goes out to smoke before coming back to bed), and my over active imagination imagines all kinds of crazy things.  I love it though, all of us snuggled up together.  I will miss it when it is over and I think that my husband is starting to feel the need to have her in her own bed…

-I was loving the hot weather, and then it went back to cold on me…  So I am now rather impatiently waiting for warm weather to put my girl in some dresses and hang out outside!

-we recently had some ”events” regarding some people we know.  Mean, nasty, stuff was said, and I can now say with certainty that I am only going to surround myself with people I sincerely like.  And it feels great just to make that decision.  All I want in my life (or at least as much of it as possible is LOVE)

Oh, and be prepared for more photos and blogging.  Almost losing all of my stuff really opened my eyes to how important it all is to me, so I am going to start updating Flickr, the blog and backing up my stuff more often then is even imaginable, just to never lose it all.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2010 6:58 am

    That’s a wonderful perspective. In fact, every night before I go to bed, I stand by the window and breathe the night air. Then I think back on all of the wonderful blessings I have and give thanks for all of my blessings and all of my lessons (which others could call “hardships”). It really is the simple things that build a life, and you walk a very charmed path. MissL is beautiful and healthy. And I wouldn’t ever let her leave my bed if she was my daughter, either! Whenever there’s a debate, think back to “cave man” times because that’s where our instincts come from. Would it be wise to leave a 6-month old to sleep on her own in a world full of predators? Of course not. Your need to keep her close is a powerful, wonderful instinct. Society often impedes on that. Though at the same time, I’ve never had a baby, so I don’t know much about forming sleeping habits and am one to talk, aren’t I?

    • ashleyenfrance permalink*
      May 14, 2010 1:20 pm

      Thanks, I am trying to concentrate on the good things. Because life is full of them. And the ‘bad’ or hard things we go through make those good times all that much sweeter. I feel so lucky and blessed, I often wonder what I did to deserve it!

Leave a Reply

