Skip to content

Flying with a Baby

April 7, 2010

This is what is on my mind as of late.  Especially since we had a teething episode I think the past few days that really threw us for a loop.  Right when we were getting the hang of this and having a kind of set routine, fever and up every hour on the hour no sleepingness got to us.  I just hope we do not have one of these episodes on the plane.  I am not sure if we will make if off alive if that is the case!  (I am practicing my crook eye if need be, not for MissL, but for the other passengers on the plane!).

I am not taking a stroller or car seat or anything of that nature, my cousin has a baby about 6 months older then MissL and can lend us all of that as needed.  So the plan is to wear the baby, a backpack for a carry-on with a change of top for me (you never know), and a change for MissL, diapers, and a ton of toys, a blankie and all that good stuff.  Plus one checked bag.  I think if I keep it down to the bare minimum, I should be able to carry all of this stuff through customs and make it to my parents, where they will probably want to carry the baby and I will tote all the other stuff…  Anyone think of anything I have forgotten?  She is still breastfeed so no need for formula or bottles.

I am just hoping immigration/entry into the US is easy, and the line is short…  For Moms that have traveled alone with their little ones, do I need a note from MissL’s Papa that we are ‘allowed’ to travel?  My MIL seems to think that I am going to need an autorisation de sortie de territoire or something like that.  I can’t seem to get an answer from anywhere, but the last thing I want to happen is to get to the US and have them want to turn us around or something because I don’t have the piece of paper necessary.  I don’t really think so, as we are traveling on our US passports…

I am excited to go, and at the same time a little nervous!  I am sure everything will be fine in the end, but I feel bad about taking MissL away from her Papa for a while!  I am sure that he is going to enjoy the sleep though!  Maybe not so much the painting of the living room though…  I am sure that we will Skype daily though, and as usual our homecoming (back to France) will be oh so sweet because our Papa will be waiting for us rather impatiently I do believe.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2010 6:14 pm

    I’ve travelled alone with my daughter (s) to the States about three times a year for the last 5 years, and I have never had anyone ask for an authorisation from my husband. I know that I should carry one, just in case, but its never been an issue- no matter where I go through customs.
    As for lines at immigration, when I was pregnant and travelling with my 3 year-old, I did ask to go through the line for the crew so I didn’t have to stand for so long, and they said it would be fine. The immigration officer even ordered me a wheelchair and then they asked if I needed anything to eat or drink while waiting for my baggage! If the baby is really ill, I would ask them to let you get through quickly and take a different line.
    My kids have always loved being on the plane. I can understand how it is a bit of a treat to be cuddled on mommy’s lap for an entire day 🙂 I’ve also tended to ask at check-in if the plane is very full because if not, they will block the seat next to you so that you are guaranteed a bit of extra space.

    • ashleyenfrance permalink*
      April 7, 2010 6:35 pm

      Ok, thanks! I was worried about the authorisation. I may have him write a note just in case, you never know. I am hoping I can get an extra seat next to me… That would be a lifesaver!! I sure hope she likes the plane because if she doesn’t it is going to be a looonnnnggg day!!

  2. April 9, 2010 10:45 am

    She looks ready to go! You’ll have a geat time. This is the easiest age for travel, really. They sleep all the time in those little air bassinettes and they get lots of attention 🙂

    Oh maybe we’ll be on the same flight! I leave next Friday morning.

    • ashleyenfrance permalink*
      April 10, 2010 2:55 pm

      No, I leave before friday! MrB is holding down the fort at our place working on the house so I am getting out asap!! I hope she decides to sleep, her teeth have been bothering her, hope we don’t have an episode of teething on the plane, those are rough!

Leave a Reply

