Skip to content

Gardening

March 9, 2010

I guess you could say we are ‘out in the country’.  The nearest town with a grocery store is 10 kilometers away, and I really only have one neighbor.  My house is pretty teeny, but my yard is gigantic.  We have, if I remember correctly, something like 2,600 square meters of yard.  Which according to my calculations (which can be off, beware!) is over half an acre.  We really feel lucky to have this piece of land as it is actually fairly well-established in terms of planting.  We have about 10 apple trees, 3 pear trees, 4 cherry trees, one plum tree, one quince tree, some berry bushes, and a rather large plot that is set aside for the vegetable patch.

In the three years that we have lived here, we have yet to really do anything with the vegetable patch.  Last year I had the land turned over (it is a wee bit too bit to do by hand and I was pregnant at the time), planted some radishes and carrots, and then I was too pregnant to really weed, we were in the middle of a bathroom remodel, and my husband was working 12 hour days, so we let the vegetable patch slide, and lots of apples rotted on the ground as I gave birth about two weeks after we should have finished picking.

All of this to say that this year I really do have good intentions.  I think reporting to you all is going to give me a sense of accountability, someone to report back to besides myself (Anyone want to say ‘hi’ in the comments?  Who are you out there?  Why are you reading this?).  My other motivator is my baby girl.  MissL will be 6 months old at the end of April and I would like nothing better then to grow and make her baby food myself (both for quality of food, I will know where it is from and what went into it, as well as for price.  I don’t really want to buy Nestle or any other big name brands, they are not very ethical, and why buy it if I can make it myself).  So when I get lazy I am going to remind myself of you people, and her, and get myself going!

I have about 60 square meters of planting space fenced off (although I don’t think the fence is all that great I’ve seen rabbits in there before!), which makes about 650 square feet of planting space.  The things that get wild might be planted elsewhere as to not strangle the other plants.  Pumpkins, courgettes, strawberries, I am talking to you.  I am compiling my list of seeds to buy, and I am also thinking about a way to make a mini greenhouse to grow some herbs that I can (hopefully) keep alive all year round.

My current problem is calling Michel, my oh-so-dear handyman with a rototiller to get over here and turn over my plot.  Here is a picture of my rototilled plot last year, before the pregnancy, sheet rock, and baby got to me!  I will put up a picture of the plot in its current, very sad state once I can run out and get one.  The house in the background in my neighbors…  I *love* his yard and house!  He has goats, a smallish veggie plot, chickens, peacocks, geese…  A farm-girl dream…

DSC_0020

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2010 10:19 am

    That’s a good sized plot for a garden. I’m not sure whether or not I’ll plant veggies this year or not. We have so many animals in our yard that last year barely anything made it to the table. Everything had bites taken out of it!

    I made all my own baby food and it was fun. I did some tutorials on my blog somewhere back when my son was born *scratching head*. You invent your own recipes–that’s the part I really liked. Those baby cook machines are really convenient for this, you know with the cooker and the food processor attached. You should look into getting one if you want to make all your own food.

    We’re taking off on our trip this week so we’ll have to get together in April (when we both have cars!).

    • ashleyenfrance permalink*
      March 10, 2010 10:45 am

      My SIL gave me a babycook thingy. I just have to figure out how it works, but I still have a little time. MissL is 4.5 months old and I am planning on waiting until 6 months for solids…!!

      Yes lets plan something for April when we are both mobile again!! Have fun on your trip!

Leave a Reply

