Skip to content

Sophie

February 25, 2010

Sophie is infamous in France.  I think that almost every French child that I have ever encountered has had one.  And all of the under 18 month old set that I have seen (maybe 8-10 different babies), has always had their Sophie with them.

When I first got to France, I thought that Sophie was a dog toy.

Why?  Because she (as the French say) is a squeaky giraffe made of latex that the little ones out here use to rub their gums.  MissL is now able to grab toys and bring them to her mouth for exploring (!), and Sophie is now one of her favorites.  She gives herself a scare when she squeezes Sophie too hard and Sophie lets out a squeal.  Now the only problem is keeping track of whose Sophie belongs to who.  With all the drooling going on around here, and with my friends babies, I try to keep my girl only chewing on her Sophie.  I know that babies share drool and what not but quite a few of our friends have had our babies in the hospital this winter for various illnesses, and I would rather have mine at home with her Mama and not sick!

*After a bit of research Sophie is actually Made in France (one of my new criteria for buying things is that is cannot be Made in China, except for the odd purchase here and there)!  The brand is Vulli, and they have quite a few things that are Made in France – 60% of their stock.  I almost wish I didn’t look at their website because now I want to buy a ton of things for MissL.  Sigh.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Kellie permalink
    February 27, 2010 8:44 am

    I’ve never heard of Sophie, but now I want one! That photo of MissL is absolutely breathtaking.

    • ashleyenfrance permalink*
      February 27, 2010 7:51 pm

      I’ll bring one for you if you want… 😉

  2. February 27, 2010 7:33 pm

    Oh, your girl is beautiful. Those eyelashes! And I know Sophie well! She’s all over here too…but I think you French started it. The French usually start all cool things over here. Ha.
    Love to you and your family!

    • ashleyenfrance permalink*
      February 27, 2010 7:50 pm

      Maybe Sophie is incognito in California then!! My dog still thinks Sophie is for him… Sigh. Thanks for commenting, I am trying to work on my photography, and I love yours… You have such beautiful girls.

  3. Kellie permalink
    March 5, 2010 7:37 am

    I’d love a Sophie!

Leave a Reply

