Skip to content

February 23, 2010

It is impossible to drive a car off the lot in France like in the US.  In the US you can go to a place pick out a car, write a check, and drive off the lot with it, all in the space of one afternoon.  No such thing in France.  Impossible.  I think that the minimum is a three day delay, and that is if you are really lucky.  As in the car you want is on the lot, and your local car registration people (aka the préfecture) are on the ball about getting your car registered.  Because, yes in France, unlike in the US you need plates and you car to be registered before you can drive it home.

All of this to say, we have ordered my new car.  But the delay is going to be something like 5 weeks before I get it.  Which was not the idea when I sold my car this weekend!  I mean it is ok, thank goodness I am on maternity leave for the moment, but I will be happy when I actually get a car back!  Which is actually funny because the past few weeks where I had my car I never really went anywhere.  I guess it is just having the possibility to go out if I want to that is enticing.  But it is not all bad news I guess.  My new car is going to be super spiffy, and in the meanwhile I can try to work in the yard some and work on my super ideas for working from home…  Too bad we didn’t live closer to, well, anything though!  The only place I can walk to are our neighbors houses!  And maybe one Tabac, but there is really no point since I don’t smoke and it would be an awfully long walk just to turn around and come back home!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kellie permalink
    February 25, 2010 7:54 am

    Congrats on getting the new car and selling the old(er) one! But a 5-week wait? Wow. That’s going to be tough. Maybe you can bake some chocolate chip cookies and use them to pay a neighbor to take you places if you need to go out? It must be a little claustrophobic without a car, but at the same time, it’s also a lot like a lot of us back home in the valley. Nothing commercial within miles and only houses and parks to walk to!

    Hopefully those five weeks will go by quickly. You’re already being industrious! 🙂

    • ashleyenfrance permalink*
      February 25, 2010 8:28 am

      Thanks!! I will survive even if it means I have no excuse not to go get my vegetable patch ready… Week one is already almost over, and MrB is supposed to take a few days off in March. It’ll be over before I know it, it is just going to be rough if I find a new job(s)… But I’ll cross that bridge if/when I get to it.

Leave a Reply

