Skip to content

Chocolate Chip Cookies

February 13, 2010

Some days home seems really far away.  And all I want to do is go home and get a hug from my Dad, and chat with my Mom while knitting or some other craft.  So I bust out the old Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe and bake some, reminding me of home.

This is something I look forward to sharing with my baby girl as she grows older.  Even now, just a baby, I set her up in her highchair and let her watch her Mama at work, baking sweet goodness.

Having a baby makes those feelings of homesickness less sometimes.  And other times it makes it hurt so bad to not be home and close to family.  But, we are our own family now, and it is important to take care of this new family.  My family as well as my French family will always be there for us.  I, on the other hand, have to adjust my vision a bit.  So that our family becomes my priority.

Last night we were talking with MrB and the reality of me going home as often as I did before is nul.  I have been in France almost 8 years now, and I have been home twice per year pretty much every year.  This year, it might end up being three times if all goes as planned, but the years after it is likely to be less and less.  A second baby in two years or so will make the whole thing even more complex.  But I want to have a famille nombreuse as they say out here, so it is all a matter of choices.  Hopefully my parents will start coming out once a year, so that we can all still see each other twice a year.  Or just once a year if that is what it ends up being.

In the meantime I always have my cookies to make to remind me of home, pictures of my family up so that they are always here with us, and we have Skype.  We talk to Grandma and Grandpa pretty much everyday with MissL, and it is one of my favorite parts of the day.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2010 3:17 pm

    Hi Ashley. Thankyou for finding my blog – because I am so glad that it meant that I found yours! I love it. It is tender and real and very readable. I hope you have a lovely day with your french family and enjoy every chocolate chip cookie that you can stuff in! Being away from extended family is certainly the hardest part of living in France. ‘Tho being English I can’t complain too much. Much harder for you. Chin up! (as we say in Britain)
    All the best
    Lydia

    • ashleyenfrance permalink*
      February 14, 2010 5:48 pm

      Thanks Lydia. Most days it is not that hard, it just hits every once in a while… Sigh. This is the life I choose though. My French family has a family home in La Creuse. Which is not that far from where you are I think?

Leave a Reply

