Skip to content

Let it snow, Let it snow, Let it snow

December 18, 2009

Yesterdays snow stuck to the ground out here is the Very Far Eastern Suburbs of Paris.  We had probably about 3 centimeters last night when we went to bed, and even more this morning.  MrB didn’t go to work we have that much snow, and is working from home.  I am watching the River Cottage Series on DVD.  I really like the show.  I would love to do something like that…  Have a small scale farm where I could spend my days gardening, taking care of the kid(s), watching over animals.  I don’t know if I could raise animals for meat, but chickens for eggs, maybe a cow for milk and cheese would be nice.  A few dogs to keep me and the Bandito company.  MrB would keep his day job most likely, I could do the rest.

We obviously cannot just leave and start that all of a sudden.  I am concentrating on consuming less, making more of what we have and trying to find a way to not have to go back to the bank.  We may not be rich money wise but we can live a real nice calm lifestyle where at least one of us can spend their time raising our daughter.

It is doable.

I believe that it is.

Somehow it will work.

Now to plan out my veggie plot for next year, which is actually pretty big (probably around 80 squared meters) and we can plan stuff all over the rest of the yard, which is huge (2600 square meters).

Oh and I got a first set of cloth diapers (BumGenius), and a good friend of mine got us a set for Lily’s birth that should be coming soon.  It is a different brand, I am not sure what kind they are, but I am excited to try out a different brand as well.

MrB thinks that I am crazy doing all of this.  I think that he wants me to be able to be home more with our girl but doesn’t think that growing a lot of our own food ect will really make that big of a difference in a budget.  I guess I will just have to consider it my job to prove him otherwise!  Too bad now that I am really motivated there is 5 or 6 centimeters of snow on the ground, there is not a lot I can do, besides number crunching, lesson planning, veggie garden planning, and dreaming.

Looks like these snow days are going to be a little packed after all…

This is slightly flawed right off the bat.  At some point we will need a bigger house, and if my plans hash out, more land.  I don’t really know how that could be possible in France without the famous CDI.  But I am choosing not to really worry about that and believe that somehow the world will provide.  That something will work out.  And if not, well, I will cross that bridge when we get to it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 18, 2009 2:28 pm

    We want to do a large scale garden next year too about that size but even my small plot was lots of work this year so I’m worried. And I need to work out a watering system for visits home.

    As for the diapers we used Motherease (bulky!) and now Fuzzibunz which I like a lot. They dry really fast. Our daughter is potty training with them and I’ve shown her how to take them off. Cloth diapers are great for that. Hey have you thought about making some? I’d always thought I’d like to and it seems pretty easy.

    • ashleyenfrance permalink*
      December 18, 2009 3:24 pm

      Yea I have thought of making them…. But I don’t have a sewing machine!! MrB’s grandma has said something several times about giving me hers, but has yet to follow through. And I don’t want to ask for it… I don’t really know how to sew though. My mom is a pretty good seamstress though, and I have spent quite a few hours watching her, so I think I could get it figured out.
      I am not too sure about watering when we aren’t here either. Usually we go home in July or August, the height of the picking too which is not that convient. We do have a handy man guy that we are friends with who works in our yard and knows a ton of people around here… Maybe he could find a kid with a scooter for us to water while we are gone…

Leave a Reply

