Skip to content

I hate Paris… No, not really.

December 15, 2009

I hate Paris.  No, I shouldn’t say that.  I don’t hate it.  I just seriously dislike having to go there on a daily basis.  I know that there are really cool areas to visit and nice things to see.  But when you are not a Parisien, or a tourist, just another person dragging their poor body into to the city for work everyday, you’d rather just avoid the whole thing.

What is their to gain in that daily struggle into and out of the city of lights?

Germs?

Zero personal space?

Long lines?  Train strikes?  Nasty smells? All of that to go and sit in an office all day, that could be anywhere really.

Now that I haven’t been going into to Paris since the end of August, I realise I really could pass on the whole thing.  Going to Paris everyday has no appeal to me.  I like to go and see the museums, visit as a toursit of sorts, have a good day out and about.  But dragging myself into the city to sit in an office, and do a job that dosen’t really appeal to me either and then the whole commute in reverse, I have no desire to continue.  I don’t even know how I could.  MrB dosen’t get home until 8 or 9pm usually.  With the job that I was at there is no way I could be home before 7 or 7:30pm, and I am starting to panic a little at the idea of going back.  Spending 12+ hours at a nounou’s isn’t really fair to her.  And it would cost me an arm and a leg to pay the nounou (if I can even find one that will do those hours everyday)…  I do need to have some sort of income though.  If my calculations are correct if I were to go back to work full time, and I deduct the nounou, Carte Orange and gas, I would be going to work for 100-150 Euros a week.  So the question is, Is it worth it?  Should I start to look for a different job with better hours?  Should I try to work from home?

Without answering any of these questions, I can’t really look for a nounou…  I need to know what kind of hours I need from her, where she needs to be located (as close as possible to my place or is 10 minutes away ok?).  It is a vicious cycle.  All of this is not to mention the fact that I don’t want MissL to spend 12 hours a day at the nounou.  I don’t really think that I should have had her if it is to never see her!  (Ok that sounds dramatic, but on average before  I was leaving the house at 7:50am and getting home around 7:30pm, when everything was going normally, and it seems like a long day for such a little one to me…)

I still have time to figure it out, but I have a feeling June is going to roll around quicker then I think, and I have let my work know what I am doing 2 months before I am supposed to go back…  So I really only have until April.  Yikes!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

