Skip to content

Misc

November 28, 2009

My baby is already 5 weeks old.  I can’t beleive it!  We are exclusively breastfeeding which is going great (She weighs one kilo more then when we brought her home from the hospital).  I have never been so happy to stick with something in my life!

My parents have come and gone as has my sister.  We really did have a wonderful time and I was so happy that they made it out here to see my girl before she gets too big!  I am now trying to plan for a trip to the US in March…  I kind of have a feeling that it is going to be a paperwork nightmare.  I need to get her US and French passport before leaving…  Talk about a project for next week! From what I understand I have to make an appointment at the embassy for the US part (?) and for the French part I am going to go to the Mayors office Monday to figure that out…

I am also going to go get the H1N1 flu shot.  I don’t want MissL to get the flu and I think that the best way to protect her is for me and MrB to get the shot.  I got my ‘bon’ in the mail the other day (I must have still been on the pregnant people list), and I am going to head over to the ‘gymnase’ on Monday.

The other thing I have been thinking about is going cloth on the diapering…  Disposables are costing us a fortune (wipes too), not to mention the time it takes for them to biodegrate.  Does anyone have any experience with this?  I am thinking that I like the Bum Genius 3.0 diapers (or maybe the Bum Genius Organic), but am a tiny bit hesitant to drop all that money before getting some opinions.

I got the date when I am supposed to go back to work ;(.  Talk about something I am NOT excited about.  The big day is the 7th of June…  I am hoping to not go back, more on that later though…

I am off to make some dinner, breastfeeding makes me hungry!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2009 8:50 am

    So glad things I used clothe diapers for Suzanne, but only once she’d started solids since, let’s face it, breast milk poop is really liquidy, stains and who wants to be dealing with that. They are definitely worth the investment if you are going to use them. But keep in mind there is the cleaning factor – you need to wash them every day (every other day at the latest) or they stink. And you need to be able to dry them. Either in a dryer or on a radiator. We definitely got the most for our money – I only bought enough for a day and half and she only wore them during the day. At night, they got wet so she woke up. I’m not sure if we’ll use them for Max. Or I should say, if I will, because my husband just found them to be a pain i nthe butt, so never used one.

  2. December 1, 2009 8:51 am

    My cat sent that before I could finish my first sentence which was – so glad things are going well with the baby!

    • ashleyenfrance permalink*
      December 2, 2009 1:05 pm

      Sounds like something my dog would do!!

      We have a washer/dryer combo, and we make fires every night in winter so I am not too worried about the cleaning part. What I am worried about are leaks ect… But I think that I am equally worried about Pampers taking 500 years to biodegrate or something like that. I am going to give it a try I think. I am off until july I think and I am sure that I can save a ton of money in even just that short period on cloth diapers… Thanks for your opinion/advise. Oh, and I have a feeling my husband is going to be like yours. I don’t think I am going to even tell him until they are already bought and delivered. Lol.

Leave a Reply

