Skip to content

Breastfeeding

November 16, 2009

Life after a baby is amazing because you can barely remember what it was like before!  As much as I don’t like getting up at 4 am to feed Miss L, I wouldn’t change it for anything in the world.  We are just now finally getting the breastfeeding down, which is a relief.  I am hoping to feed her until at least her 3 months.  I’ve got the milk, and she is now eating straight from the breast, which makes the whole thing a lot easier.

My parents are coming out this week.  I can’t wait to see them, and I am so thankful to have them…  I almost gave up breastfeeding in he hospital, called home crying, and thankfully my Dad was there to encourage me to keep on trying.  And I did, and I think that we have finally turned a corner.  I would be a little nervous to go somewhere for a whole day without the pump, but in all honesty we could do it.  I am just scared of her getting dehydrated…  But as our pediatrician said, she knows how it works, so she won’t let herself die of hunger.

I had imagined that breastfeeding would be easy, natural and something that I wouldn’t have to work at.  I don’t know if it is because I had a C Section, or what but it was one of the hardest thing I have ever done.  Now that it is finally functioning I can look back on the past three weeks and say that it i worth it, but I can understand why people give up.  Once it works though it can be mighty convient, as long as you don’t mind being seins nus…  Although after having the baby, I no longer really mind, any shred of embarrassment about being naked is quickly lost after being poked and prodded by about 20 people over the course of 5 days…

My sister comes out a few days after my parents.  The in-laws are also going to come out while my parents are here and MrB’s grandparents as well.  My parents have rented a place 10 minutes from our so everyone is going to stay there.  It should be fun and I am feeling much more relaxed about the breastfeeding, and so happy I didn’t give up.

Leave a Reply

