Skip to content

Welcome Baby

November 2, 2009

Our baby girl made her way into the world on Saturday the 24th of October.  Little Miss was still breech so I had a C Section…  She wasn’t going to make it out breech.  Despite being a little disapointed about having a C Section everything went wonderfully.  The hospital staff was really supportive, and our little girl is absolutely beautiful.

She was 3.6 kilos at birth, and 48 centimeters long.  She has beautiful blue eyes for the moment, she inherited my crooked little fingers, and we are so in love!  I only have 3 kilos left to lose to be back to my pre-pregnancy weight, but I am not dieting or anything, because I am trying to breastfeed the baby.  I say trying because it seems to me that it works sometimes and sometimes she is just lazy.  She hasn’t regained enough weight since her birth, so I have a sage femme that comes by the house every day or two to check on us.  (She also took out my last few stitches ect).  I pump my milk and supplement her, which seems to be working good, at least I know that she is getting something to eat.  The problem with it, as far as I can see is that it makes her lazy on the boob…  But we are working on it.  Things get a little better every day.

I will put up a picture as soon as I have a minute, my daughter loves being in the arms of her mama, so everything I do is one handed…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2009 8:27 am

    yay!! welcome baby ) she came early?1!

    she’ll get the hang of the boob but for breastfeeding info you can always go to kellymom.com or you can email me misschrisc(at)gmail.com Also Dr. Sears parenting site has some great videos that really helped me. It’s always helpful to talk to other bf moms or at least it was for me at first.

    • ashleyenfrance permalink*
      November 2, 2009 9:08 am

      She was a little early… I was actually admitted to the hospital for high blood pressure, just for them to keep an eye on me for a day or two, and that night, while in the maternity ward, my water broke… They let me labor in my room, alone, well with MrB, until I was at 5 cm. Little Miss was still breech so they whisked us off to the OR and got her out.

      Thanks for the info on the breastfeeding! I may be emailing you soon, supposdly there are also La Leche League meetings in English around these parts… I have a sage femme that stops by and checks on us every few days to make sure that the baby is gaining weight, but I kind of feel like she stresses me out more then anything. We are off for a small walk, and to figure out how to get Miss L on our Carte Vitale, getting her a social security number, look into how to get her a passport (both French and American) and all that good stuff… Oh and my favorite part, birth announcements!

  2. November 2, 2009 2:40 pm

    I think to add Little Miss to your Carte Vitale, you and MrB can both have her added to your respective cards. You just have to send an extrait de naissance to the Sécu (at least that’s the way it used to be). Two cards, two extraits (I know that both of your secu numbers are domiciled in the same building but if you only send in one, it may not get added to the other). It’s a simple procedure. Honest!

    She won’t have a social security number yet. She’ll be a sponge off of her parents’ insurance for quite some time.

    I’ve heard tell that the La Leche Ligue women are not very nice in Paris. I have more than one friend who had a serious problem with them. If they aren’t a nice fit, ditch them and find a better fit.

    There’s also Message (I think it still exists). If you can find Fusac (prolly even the online edition), you can find these ladies too. I was a member until I went back to work, then it was unmanageable because they cater (mostly) to women who have the time to have coffee/playgroup dates in the middle of the day. But they do also have BF consultants.

    I was thinking about this the other day, how disheartened you were to have a Csection and then with Aimee (Putyourflareon) anticipating her second Csection in December… about how lucky we are to live in the era we live in. Give or take 100 years (prolly less) and a whole lot of women and babies used to die. It used to be the most dangerous thing a women could ever do. Men died in battlefields, woman in their beds. Now men don’t go to war, and births are almost without danger. How lucky we are really.

    (Please note, the latter part of this comment is not to make you feel guilty or ungrateful, I’m just musing out loud. Hugs and sloppy girlly kisses to Little Miss)

    • ashleyenfrance permalink*
      November 2, 2009 6:24 pm

      Oh thanks… The paperwork never ends in this country! We have to do that. I am not really into LLL either. I am just looking for a way for this midwife to leave me alone. I mean she is nice enough and all but I feel like she is spying on us or something and it stresses me out!

      And I do agree we are lucky now vis a vis to childbirth. I am grateful that the doctors were able to get my baby safely out of my tummy, and after reading your comment about stretched out nether regions at Aimee’s I can see that there are advantages to a C section. What I regret the most about a Csecion is not being able to hold your baby right away… And the first two days of the recovery period. But I would do it again in a heartbeat. And maybe next time I will be able to have a vaginal birth. I am just happy that she is here and doing well, and me too. I have a friend that had a horrible tear during birth and 3 months later is still recovering, so I think that I am better off then some. And my baby is so worth it!

  3. Samantha permalink
    November 2, 2009 8:09 pm

    Oh wow, congratulations – so happy to hear you and the little one are doing well!

Leave a Reply

