Skip to content

Rain

October 21, 2009

There is nothing like the rain to make me want to hop in bed and spend the day under the covers.  I got up this morning and hopped back in bed with Bandit where we cuddled until noon.  Pretty soon I will have another being to add to the mix with the baby.

Now that baby’s arrival is getting closer, our construction work is more or less done for the moment, and I feel ready for the little one to make its great appearance, I am starting to worry a little about post baby.  I don’t really want to go back to the bank.  It is too far, hours are too long, and if I have to take a position like the one I had before I left, it is not well enough paid to be worth the stress ect.  If I need to pay a nounou to watch my baby 12 hours a day, I am not even sure that financially it would be worth it.  It seems silly to go to work for 100 to 150 euros a week.  On the flip side of that, if we are going to have more then one baby (which is the case) the bank offers a really nice maternity leave, and benefits.  So I come to the following question…  Do I go back to the bank and tough it out until we decide to have baby number 2?  I mean it seems like an ok idea, but wow, to already be thinking about baby #2 seems a little extreme…  Do I ask for a temps partial when I do go back?  Then I would be going to work for even less money, but would still have a regular job.  Or do I try to find something where I can work mainly from home?  Does that even exist, is it possible?  I am sure that it would be worth the effort, and I think that I could do it, but what?  I have lots of ideas, but they involve me have a huge house and other things that I don’t have. I do want to do the best thing for my baby and for our family, it is just hard know what that is.  I have a feeling once the baby is born it is just going to get more complicated…

I guess for now the best I can do is finish up with my different TEFL certifications.  Everyone else in France makes the post baby transition work, I am sure that we should be able to as well.

I guess the rain and curling up under the covers leads to a lot of thinking…  And whereas before all of these ideas were far off, I am getting to the point where I do need to start making some decisions, or at least start looking into one thing or another…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2009 5:47 pm

    As you may already know, after baby two you can take your three year congé parentale if you’ve worked long enough in France. That will give you some extra time to find something else. I think the problem working from home is what to do with the baby! I have this same dilemma. I’ll have to pay a nou-nou to watch her while I work at home.

    • ashleyenfrance permalink*
      October 21, 2009 6:44 pm

      It isn’t easy, is it?! I have definitely thought about the conge parentale. It still seems so amazing to me that the gov’t pays for you to raise your kids! The advantage to me working from home would be that instead of needing the nounou 12 hours a day, I could potentially only need one 8 or 9 hours a day or something like that. I could even try to get a spot in the creche perhaps. Whereas at my job before, by the time I commute in, work and commute home I would be looking at 12 easily… It is a big financial juggling game, the nounou would be cheaper in that case, but there goes any fixed income, although it seems fairer for the baby. I don’t know, it sucks being at crossroads like this!!

Leave a Reply

