Skip to content

Rain, Wind, Gloom and Doom

February 11, 2009

Despite all of the above, things are going well for us!  The gloom and doom part refers to the current state of our world.  But I have decided to stop watching the news every night to avoid this feeling!  Instead I concentrate on making us something good to eat, try to think of some projects for me to work on, and think of things that make a good difference in someone else’s life.

One of my sisters friends is currently serving in Iraq.  I have gathered up quite a few different things to mail to her, and that is going to be my project for this weekend (I don’t think that it will change her life, but it will hopefully bring a little cheer and fun).  Among taking pictures of the windows, going to the grocery store, going to the dry cleaners to give back the pants she gave me that are not mine and hopefully find mine there in the process…  Oh, and also doing the first unit of my business english class!  Add to that the fact that I want to go check out my vegtable patch.  It is starting to sound like a good thing that I took Monday off!

The wind knocked over a tree in the yard.  It is either an apple or a pear tree, but I cannot for the life of me remember which one…  Michel (my wood guy and yard help from time to time) is going to come this weekend, so hopefully he can chop it up and we will have some of our wood stock for next year.  I would chop it up but we don’t have a chainsaw…  And using a chainsaw kind of freaks me out a little!  I am afraid of cutting of my feet or something.

Anyways I am going to get back to my book, World Without End which I am rather enjoying at the moment…  Then off for a little shut eye, so I can actually make it to work on time tomorrow.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2009 8:29 am

    We lost a fruit tree too. It’s a little bit sad but like you said more firewood for next year!

  2. February 19, 2009 3:43 pm

    Fruit trees must make amazing smelling fires.

    World without End held me spellbound! Loved it to bits.

    • ashleyenfrance permalink*
      February 19, 2009 9:33 pm

      I hope that it smells good. Might even be nice for a BBQ or something like that. I think that I ended up reading World Without End in 5 days. Basically when I wasn’t at work, I was reading! I really liked it too!

Leave a Reply

