Skip to content

Making Changes… One Day at A Time

January 17, 2009

Today, while MrB was at work I did a much needed cleaning up on our living room and downstairs, and have almost caught up on my laundry pile.  2 more loads and everything in our house will be washed and cleaned.  I can’t wait!  It is pretty funny the things that we get excited about as adults!   I’ve gotten off topic.  What I wanted to say is that I cleaned the whole kitchen and living room using mainly white vinager, and I think that I am never going to go back to buying any other products.  Not only is vinager cheap, but it also cuts grease like nothing else and it is good for the environment.  I guess that I will use what I have left of all of my other products, just to throw them away would be wasteful, but after I am going to stick to my new method.

I also started a compost pile, I guess you would call it for the moment.  I haven’t really protected it, for the moment it is just sitting in a pile in the yard.  What I like about composting so far, is that there is really not a whole lot left to put in the trash.  Once I have recycled anything that can be recycled, and put aside for the compost pile, there is not a whole lot left that goes into the trash can.  I think that I am going to start using my bigger trash can for recycling and find a smaller one for the trash.

Our windows are also ready, so it looks like they are going to come and install them the first week of Feburary.  MrB wants to be here when they do install them, and that is the first days that he can take off to be here.

I also got some books in the mail today.  I don’t know if other people have experienced this in France, but I hve the best postman.  He knows that we are not home during the week, so he hangs on to my packages all week and brings them for me on Saturday.  I ordered a few different books to read and inspire me.  I ordered The Complete Encyclopedia of Country Living, and The Good Life.  I also order three novels, One Hundred Years of Solitude, Love in the Time of Cholera, and also the mega humgenous World Without End.  I definatley have something to read now for a while!  Now that I think about it I wonder if there is any sort of book exchange out here for those of us that like to read in English.  I know that there is the American Library in Paris, but it is not really that close to work for me, and I don’t really see myself going to Paris on the weekend.  It is a beautiful city, but in all honesty if I didn’t have to go there everyday, I wouldn’t…  Anyone out there know?  (If anyone out there even reads this!  haha).

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2009 9:45 am

    I read ! I have you on my bloglines. I just don´t always comment, sorry.

    Umm yes I’d like to start an English book club in my area too because there are plenty in Paris but not in the outbounds. And I was thinking it would be a good way to exchange books too or lend them.

    Oh and yes! white vinegar and other homemade cleaning products rock! Although like you I wasn’t sure what to do with the old stuff and we got left with lots of old cleaning products from the previous owners 😦

    • ashleyenfrance permalink*
      January 19, 2009 8:11 pm

      Hey! Thanks! I knew that I was spelling vinegar wrong but my spell check couldn’t get it figured out… And I was too tired to get out the dictionary…

      At some point I will make a list of books to trade or share. I live in the ‘burbs of Paris too, although probably further out then you.

Leave a Reply

