Skip to content

Lather. Rince. Repeat.

December 11, 2008

Still no hot water.  The part did not come in today, which I should have expected (we are talking about France after all).  It was supposed to have been sent overnight…  At this rate I am thinking that I will be lucky to be able to take a hot shower before I head back to the states next tuesday.  My parents house will feel like living in the lap of luxury.  I have, at any rate, leaned how to wash my hair with very little water.

Every night I get home from work, and start boiling water.  And boiling more water.  And just a few more pots full while I am at it.  I can then jump into my lukewarm water bath and shiver while trying to wash myself in the quickest fashion possible.  I have given up on conditioner.  That makes two hair washings in one sitting, and way too much work.

As much as the no heat (in the house) doesn’t really bother me (we do have the fireplace and it keeps things pretty warm), the no hot water part is kind of a pain.  It makes it hard to wash dishes, and probably costs us a fortune in electricity with all of the water boiling that we have to do everynight.

Oh, and it is below freezing all day and all night.  Or at least that was the case today.  When I got in my car to leave this morning around 8am, it was -2 degrees outside.  That is 28 F.  And I can’t find my gloves.  Needless to say I have some pretty chapped hands.

I am on vacation until the 28th of December, which is great.  I am sure it is going to go by in a flash.  I am thinking that tomorrow I am going to start off my vacation by going to the Prefecture de Police and work on getting my receipt for my Carte de Sejour renewed.  It expires on the 25th of December.  I guess if I want to go to work on the 28th I do need to sort it out.  (I kind of wonder about going back to my job.  It is about the last thing that I want to do, but that is just the way it is for now.)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

