Skip to content

A Bumpy Start

November 20, 2008
tags:

I just got off the phone with my visitors.  The second plane on their lay-over was canceled!  They are booked for the next plane into Paris, but that does kind of throw a wrench in my plans for the day!  I feel awful for them.  Apparently someone had a heart attack on their flight from the West Coast, so their plane divered and landed in Toronto to get the sick person off the plane.  That said, they landed late, and their second plane was canceled.  They must be exhausted.  There is nothing like the unexpected while traveling to put me in a bad mood.  I usually have the dog strapped on my back (I carry him on, he’s a chihuahua, and he has a bag thing that can be converted into a backpack), and am super stressed, carrying all kinds of camera gear.  Usually when I travel with Damien I am waiting for him too.  He hates staying in one place and many a time has gone wandering the airport something like 10 mintues before we are supposed to board.  So I end up waiting for him, stresing out even more, because what am I supposed to do if he doesn’t make it back before the end of boarding!  I hate take off too.

My guests are getting ready to take off for the third time in one day.  Yuck.  I think that I am going to get them in a sorry state.  I’m going to ask Damien to bring home a baguette, I have a feeling that they are going to get here, and just want to veg out on the couch, eat something, take a nice hot shower, and probably get in bed.  Back home it is currently 5am, so they’ve basically pulled an all-nighter, except a little bit of sleep maybe on the plane.

Maybe tomorrow we will do a half day in Paris.  It turns out that the boat they are taking back to San Franciso is going to be about 5 days late to leave, so we have a little more time then I thought.  Maybe we’ll start big, the Eiffel Tower and some nice hot paninis.  Maybe a coffee in a cafe and a little people watching.

Oh and today is the beaujolais.  Maybe we’ll by some wine and try it out this year.  Apparently there is also a marche de noel in Reims, maybe one day we can go see that too…

Note to self- Figure out how to put accents on the French words!  I have a QWERTY keyboard, so no accents in view…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

